Lottery Director John Musgrave Recieves Lifetime Achievement Award

Charleston, WV – West Virginia Lottery Director John Musgrave has been awarded the 2010 Major Peter J. O’Connell Lottery Industry Lifetime Achievement Award by PGRI, publishers of Public Gaming International Magazine.

Created in 1993 to honor Major Peter J. O’Connell, first director of the Rhode Island Lottery, recipients of the award have distinguished themselves over a long period of time and have made important contributions to the success of their peers, as well as the lottery industry, according to Paul Jason, publisher of Public Gaming International Magazine.
“Major O’Connell personified integrity and dedication, which are the attributes exemplified by recipients of the award . . . it is significant that they are selected by their peers in the lottery industry,” said Jason.

Musgrave was appointed director of the West Virginia Lottery by Gov. Cecil Underwood in April 1997, and was consecutively re-appointed by Governors Bob Wise and Joe Manchin. A native of Point Pleasant, Musgrave brings to the lottery a strong finance and leadership background, with more than four decades of public service at the federal, state and local levels, experience that Jason said has benefited the lottery industry nationally.

Musgrave was appointed by Gov. Bob Wise as deputy secretary of tax and revenue and acting cabinet secretary, as well as acting secretary of administration for budget. Musgrave assumed responsibility for overseeing operations of the budget office, including the tax, ABCA, banking, racing, municipal bonds, insurance and athletic/boxing commissions, all while continuing to serve as lottery director.

Musgrave currently serves as past president of the Multi-State Lottery Association (MUSL), and was previously chairman of the Powerball and video lottery groups. Additionally, he is recent past president of the North American Association of State and Provincial Lotteries (NASPL), an organization of 52 lotteries in the U.S., U.S. Virgin Islands and Canada.