Governor Justice Makes Appointments to Lottery Commission

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Andy Kniceley of Clarksburg and Dan Marshall of Parkersburg have been appointed by Governor Jim Justice to the seven-member West Virginia Lottery Commission, and were sworn in on July 26 during the monthly Commission meeting.

Kniceley is the publisher of NCWV Media, and Marshall is an attorney. Both gentlemen will serve on the Lottery’s Games, Rules, Security and Marketing Committee.

The West Virginia Lottery Commission was created in 1985 to assist and advise the director of the Lottery and to carry on a continuous study of lottery operations throughout the state. The Governor, with the approval of the West Virginia Senate, appoints members.

In accordance with state law, the Lottery Commission is required to have seven members comprised of a lawyer, a certified public accountant, a computer expert, a marketing specialist, and one member with not less than five years of experience in law enforcement. An additional two members represent the “public at large.”

No more than four of them may be from the same political party. Unless filling an unexpired appointment, members serve overlapping terms of five years and are eligible for successive appointments.