Appointments To Lottery Commission Announced; Former State Police Supertendent And Lewisburg Cpa

Former West Virginia State Police Superintendent David L. Lemmon and Lewisburg CPA Douglas A. Bicksler have been appointed by Governor Joe Manchin to the seven-member West Virginia Lottery Commission, according to Lottery Director John Musgrave.

Representing the certified public account category of the commission, Bicksler’s term will end June 30, 2014. He is an Independent from the Third Congressional District and the Tenth Senatorial District.

A resident of Nitro, Lemmon will serve as a representative from law enforcement; he is an Independent from the Second Congressional District, as well as the Eighth and Seventeenth Senatorial Districts. Fulfilling an unexpired term, Lemmon’s appointment is effective until June 30, 2011.

Looking forward to working with Lemmon and Bicksler, Lottery Director John Musgrave said both appointments bring to the commission distinguished records of personal accomplishment and professional achievement. “Their skills and experience will be invaluable to lottery operations.”

Bicksler is a certified public accountant, who has been operating an accounting firm since 2004. Serving the Greater Greenbrier Valley, Bicksler said he meets the needs of commercial, individual, and non-profit clients, alike. He previously served as a contract accountant for American Express Tax and Business in Roanoke, VA.

A native of Morgantown, Lemmon is a U.S. Navy veteran, who retired in 1987 from the WV State Police. During more than 32 years of service, he attained all ranks, from Trooper through Lt. Col. and Deputy Superintendent. He was appointed Superintendent of the WV State Police by Gov. Joe Manchin in 2005; Lemmon retired in 2008.

The West Virginia Lottery Commission was created in 1985 to assist and advise the director of the Lottery and to carry on a continuous study of lottery operations throughout the state. The Governor, with the approval of the West Virginia Senate, appoints members.

In accordance with state law, the Lottery Commission is required to have seven members comprised of a lawyer, a certified public accountant, a computer expert, a marketing specialist, and one member with not less than five years experience in law enforcement. An additional two members represent the “public at large.”

No more than four of them may be from the same political party. Unless filling an unexpired appointment, members serve overlapping terms of five years and are eligible for successive appointments.