Governor Manchin To Accept Recommendations From Select Panel For Limited Video Lottery

Charleston, WV – The eight-member Select Panel for Limited Video Lottery (LVL) has completed its examination of vital issues affecting the 2011 LVL rebid process and issued its final report to Gov. Joe Manchin, III.

Under provisions of W.Va. Code §29-22B-1107(r), the State Lottery Commission is to provide for the rebidding of limited video lottery terminal permits for the next 10 years beginning July 1, 2011.

“After the completion of public forums across the state and careful review of all written comments, the Select Panel concludes that the 2011 LVL rebid process can be administered without any legislation,” said John Musgrave, LVL Select Panel Chairman and West Virginia Lottery Director. “Based on our findings, we are confident that existing legislation will provide a fair process.”

The Governor has stated that he will accept the recommendations of the Panel and advise the Legislature to allow the existing Limited Video Lottery Act to continue as written. “Although legislative changes were not required, I appointed this Panel to ensure due diligence for all interested parties regarding issues related to the Limited Video Lottery rebid process,” said Gov. Manchin. “I accept the Select Panel’s recommendations. I am also recommending that the Lottery Commission reduce the total number of permits issued during the rebid process to 7,500.”

Musgrave said that the Lottery will now begin moving forward with the rebid process for 2011. “There is a lot of work that has to be done to move forward with this process, but with the Governor’s recommendation we can now begin developing a timeline for implementation of permits to be issued for the next 10-year period.”

Public Meetings were held at the following locations in West Virginia: Charleston, Oak Hill, Wheeling and Shepherdstown. Other Select Panel members included Virgil T. Helton, Cabinet Secretary, Dept. of Revenue and Budget Director; James Spears, Cabinet Secretary, Dept. of Military Affairs & Public Safety; Dr. Brian Noland, Chancellor, WV Higher Education Policy Board; Lisa Dooley, Executive Director, WV Municipal League; Patty Hamilton, Executive Director, WV Association of Counties; Sheriff Rodney A. Miller, Immediate Past President, WV Sheriff’s Association; and Vivian Parsons, Executive Director, County Commissioners Association.